reflection

Oh, wow. I am so humbled and proud and amazed by this blog post about our town and the wheelchair basketball event.

Daddy J was very touched by this year’s event and concert, too. I wasn’t able to go hear his band perform because I didn’t have babysitting for Rainbow, but he said it was just an awesome experience. Last year, the wheelchair athletes didn’t really dance, but this year they did. He said he gave them various percussion instruments and they got out on the dance floor and were really feeling the music, and that it was a beautiful, moving thing. I wish I’d gotten to see it and dance with them. (Next year?) And I’m so proud of our other friends in the piece: Linda and Doug and Gracelyn, and Kim and Elijah and their growing family, and Carla and Dennis, and all the members of the park board, and those talented athletes who graced us with their competitive performance.

Our little town is many things; it’s not perfect and there are things it lacks and things that it could certainly do without. But I do love it, and I think this writer did an excellent job touching on why so many of us here do.

I’m looking forward to reading more of the Hoops for Heroes blog. What a powerful, beautiful thing he’s doing.

Makes me smile, really big.

🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. macmommy@comcast.net
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 23:05:50

    I love inspiring stories like this. I would have loved to have seen them dancing to Daddy J’s music. Wow.

    .mac 🙂

Leave a Reply

