jumping

Have you seen 127 Hours, with James Franco? We rented it on Apple TV and I wasn’t able to watch most of it. I knew what it was about; I heard a radio interview about it and read the story in an issue of Outside magazine. So, yeah. I knew what was coming and elected to leave the room when it got near the time of the arm crushing. I didn’t return for any of the whole Misery and Dehydration thing, and SURE AS FIRE wasn’t going to see any of the Desperate Times Call for Desperate Measures with the Blunt Multi-Tool thing.

The beginning, though, was watchable for me. Aron, the main character, bikes and hikes and is an outdoorsy nut in a southwestern canyon. He meets a couple of cute girls and takes them on this wild scenic route that involves a breathtaking plunge into a pool of water.

I had seen that part with Daddy J, so when Rockinrolla watched the movie later, I knew it would be fine to go watch the first part with him and Rainbow. Rainbow felt very grown-up sharing the seat with me, and was VERY stimulated by the jump-in-the-water part.

He’s still talking about it, days later.

I was trying to figure out what my deal was today. I feel all lethargic and heavy and heart-sore, and then it clicked: a dip into depression. Been there, done that. It’ll pass. It always does.

I poked around for the trigger, and of course it’s the Jumping in the Water that Rainbow keeps talking about. Out of nowhere, he’ll say excitedly, JUMP WATER! And my heart lurches in my chest. We played at the playground today and I gave in quickly to his puddle jumping. His sneakers and pants got soaked, but whatever. He has other shoes to wear while these dry. He loves to jump, jump, jump, and talk about the big Jump Water.

I feel like Sleeping Beauty’s dad, who ordered all the spinning wheels burned when he learned about the witch’s curse against his daughter. I want to keep him away from all large bodies of water until he is a reasonable, fairly responsible big kid. I want to skip pools, lakes, and the beach, until I can pretty well trust him to be safe. I know it’s over-protective of me, but that’s the knee-jerk reaction I have. It would probably be good for me to take him to swim lessons, but what will he even learn before he’s, like, 4 or 5? What will he possibly retain?

I want to burn the spinning wheels, dammit.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 00:32:21

    My 2 kids were introduced to “swimming” lessons when they were about a year and a half old. They instictively floated and learned over the course of regular lessons and pool time to be confident and safe in the water. My son in Grade 1 was credited with saving a class mate who was in trouble in the pool. My grandchildren started real early with lessons- all 5 of them are water babies and the older boysare confident swimmers (my gd is only 2 but is crazy about swimming). They do retain what they learn – when given the chance to experience it.. I can understand your panic because of sweet Wade – but isn’t better to give Rainbow the tools at an early age to help keep him safe. Accidents can always happen – we can only do the best we can do.
    ps
    I love Rainbow’s reaction to that car when he hit the “gas” peddle. I am so glad you are back blogging.
    L

  2. Jennifer
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 05:00:53

    You have a gift of putting your feelings into words so beautifully. I would imagine that how you expressed yourself will always be your reaction, but it’s because you are such a nurturing, loving mother not over-protective in a negative way. I have not personally given my little ones lessons early, but I know our friend K has. Maybe talk to her about how much the twins learned last year (of course they were closer to 3 than 2 at that time.) She was amazed at what they accomplished with a certain teacher. However, I know there is no easy answer here found in swim lessons alone.

  3. Mama Jamz
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 19:34:12

    Thanks, Linda and Jennifer. It’s just hard. I did take Rockinrolla and Brad for a few sets of lessons at the YMCA, but they were more like 3 and 4 when we started. They got adequately proficient, and Rockinrolla was even on a swim team for awhile. I don’t worry about them in the deep end of a pool at all. It just seems so young for little Rainbow, you know?

    I feel like what they learn at this point (early two’s) is that water is fun and to jump on in, you’ll be caught. And I kind of wish there would be lessons for Rainbow where a monster would jump out of the pool as he started to approach and scare the pants off of him, you know? Or, like, if you’re not holding Mama’s hand and walk toward a pool, loud sirens would go off. Sigh.

    Fear is not an issue for him; I’m SURE he would leap on in if he saw other kids there playing. But I could be totally misremembering the swim lessons for toddlers – they can really learn to make it to the side of the pool at this age, Linda?

    Also, he just isn’t interested in what adults have to say when we’re at the classes we’ve gone to. I’m sure he’d have fun playing with me in the water, but I don’t know if he’d really glean anything. Maybe just learn by doing?

    It sort of makes me sick to think about it.

  4. Jennifer
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 22:00:17

    My Kate is so much like him, and so very different from her siblings. I doubt she wouldn’t pay one bit of attention to a swim teacher. It would be all about the fun. The other two are on the swim team currently, and anytime I take her with me to lessons I have been telling her while we watch things like, “It’s only okay to get in with Mama or Daddy,” or “Kate can’t get in alone. You have to have a big person.” Who knows if she is getting it, but I figure it doesn’t hurt to use the time as a teachable moment when she isn’t getting in.

    I like your idea about scaring them as they approach! šŸ™‚ Some little ones need a bit of fear put into them, as I have learned with Kate.

  5. Linda
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 02:57:05

    Mama J – your quote
    Fear is not an issue for him; Iā€™m SURE he would leap on in if he saw other kids there playing. But I could be totally misremembering the swim lessons for toddlers ā€“ they can really learn to make it to the side of the pool at this age, Linda?

    Kids don’t have any fear at this age – of just about anything. We need to teach them how to do things safely – swim lessons being one way with water. And yes my kids did learn to swim to the edge of the pool by the time they were 3-4 but they were 18 month when they started.
    And for what it’s worth – kids love jumping in puddles – its what I have alway loved about spring – the melting snow and puddles and kids. (I live in the frozen north of Canada!!) and there is still not much melting going on here :((
    Linda

  6. Mama Jamz
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 16:32:16

    Thank you so much for the info, Linda. šŸ™‚

    And yes, puddles are always good for fun. We’re having a gorgeous, crisp, early spring day here. I hope it comes your way soon.

Leave a Reply

