more better

It’s funny how practiced I’ve become with little dips into sadness. Not ha-ha funny, I guess, but notable. It’s part of my skill set nowadays. From tons of experience I know that I just have to keep going and do what makes me feel better, and the dark feelings will wash on by. And they have.

I’m about to go top off an article I wrote for Babble with some professional insights that some folks were kind enough to give me. I am hopeful that once I get the quotes in there, it will be accepted. And another piece will come out on March 18 at Babble.com. AND, I also just got an article accepted by Adoptive Families, although that won’t be published til probably May/June. So the writing has been really rewarding.

The fun thing about sending off articles for publication is getting them accepted.

(Duh.)

I’m a big sucker for praise and approval, so it’s a great carrot for me. Plus, it’s deeply enjoyable to share our experiences and have meaningful discussions with people I don’t even know about how their own experiences compare.

We just had another playdate at our house with little S and his mom, C. Rainbow was a bit of a pill this time with the sharing and such, but they had some good moments as well. Next week we’ll play at their house, and Rainbow seems to be on better behavior there. I LOVE that he’s getting the sharing practice in. We may go to a bouncy play area on Friday with C. and another of her friends. Bounce University, maybe? Apparently it’s Toddler Time from 10-12, and it totally sounds like Rainbow’s cup of tea.

We went to Chuck E. Cheese’s yesterday since it was cold and gross outside. It’s Rainbow’s new favorite place – Chi Cheese! And then followed it up with a visit to the padded toddler play zone in the mall, so big excitement all around. That play zone rocks; they have this great foamy stuff on the floors, and the climb-on stuff is padded too, with some space-age molded soft material.

Here are some pics of a little bun from our trip to the park day before yesterday.

He’s such a funny, smart, tough little guy.

Rainbow enjoys the Night-Night game. It involves stretching out on the floor (or a bed, if that’s handy,) closing one’s eyes, and snoring loudly. I play, too. It’s a good game.





3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 12:14:31

    Congratulations on the articles! I should try that sometime…. seems as though I think about it all the time anyhow but actually submitting pieces is another step.

    Wonderful photos! Such a cutie!

  2. Mama Jamz
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 14:23:11

    Yes you should try it, Amy. It’s very gratifying, and you have a lot to share with the world. (I have been to your blog and read your posts on the forum.) I try to send off at least 1 or 2 pieces a week to a couple of different publications. Most haven’t been accepted, but it’s okay.

    Pick a publication you like, search for submission guidelines, check out the current articles so that what you write will fit in, and please do some submitting of your own. I can’t wait to hear about your success.

  3. Mama Jamz
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 14:30:50

    Just added your two blogs to my blogroll by the way, Amy. Your artwork is so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

