Spiderbite Chronicles II: The Reawakening

She was casually getting ready for bed, and felt an itchy spot on her posterior. “Mosquitos already,” she thought irritably, and gave the spot an absentminded little scratch. Instead of a boring old mosquito bite, she felt a raised patch of bumps. “It couldn’t be!” she gasped.

Craning around to look in the mirror confirmed her fear: the blistery bumps were in the SAME SPOT as her affliction of so many months ago. It was incongruous, intrusive, inconceivable.

And yet undeniable: THE SPIDER BITE HAD RETURNED.

*cue psycho music*

*****

Daddy J checked it out and said, Huh, yeah, there ya go. Maybe it was a brown recluse, and the poison is reactivated for some reason.

And I’m all, HAHAHA, flesh-eating bacteria/need a bun cheek-ectomy/hatching a creepy mini-me/alien transponder site. HAHAHA.

But it’s just so bizarre.

Why would spider bite poison like, LAY EERILY DORMANT only to wake up and be all blistery and itchy again? What’s up with that? I mean, I’ve seen this movie before, and I DO NOT LIKE IT. Especially not after three months have elapsed. What bit me ANYWAY? And did it die when we sprayed for spiders???

Daddy J thinks I’m a bit of a hypochondriac and this certainly doesn’t help matters. For now, anyway, it’s nowhere near as bad as it was in January. No bullseye pattern, and not painful, just mildly itchy. Still weird, though.

I just hope the HazMat guys don’t show up with Mulder and Scully to whisk me away as soon as I hit Publish. HAHAHA

(looks over shoulder)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JenniG
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 05:58:19

    could it be ringworm?

  2. Mama Jamz
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 14:32:59

    That is definitely a possibility, and one I hadn’t considered. Thank you! I’m on my way to the doctor this morning and will have her check.

Leave a Reply

