still

I’m driving to pick Rainbow up from his two (now three) day a week daycare, on the up-down road that he loves.

(up-down-up-down-WHEEEE!)

I feel that hot tingle, that not-unpleasant shock down my right ear to my jawline that tells me he’s there. Turn off the radio and say Hello.

I’m glad you’re here. What’s going on with you? I’m on my way to pick up Rainbow.

affection and inquiry

Yes, he’s amazing. He’s so fun and sweet and lovable. Such an enormous blessing. I love so much that we have him in our family. I love him.

a wave of love and gratification

(And I get the feeling, not for the first time, that Ward had a hand in this, that he knows Rainbow and loves him, too, and that he not only approved but was around when the plans were laid. I feel like he’s proud. I imagine the two of them hugging, and how they would play together right now: silly, bossy, fearless, adorable little boys. I cry overwhelmed, full-of-the-goodness-of-the-whole-thing tears.)

Is anything going on special with you? I hope you’re doing amazing things.

EXCITEMENT YES YES YES THRILLED YES I AM LAUGHTER

(I laugh, too.)

I love you.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melinda
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 18:27:28

    So glad that you have these moments. What an incredible bond.
    Also, I read this just after snapping at my 5 year old too sharply. So, yeah…perspective. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

