debinking

Big boy bed: CHECK
All settled in to preschool: CHECK
Pretty much potty trained: CHECK

There’s really no excuse any more; that binky’s got to go.

It’s not so much a big deal orthodontically, I don’t think, since he just uses it while he’s in bed. The main bummer is that he wakes up and demands help finding it during the night. We’ll go in his room and it will be folded up in his blanket, wedged next to the mattress (which is on the floor), or fully disappeared into another plane of existence, at which point we pull out a spare. The other night Daddy J found it on Rainbow’s CHEST, completely visible while he was laying there begging for it. He popped it in his mouth and went straight to sleep.

So, yeah, that part’s annoying.

Also, he’s two and a half, and an awfully big two and a half, at that. He just seems enormous to be still using a binky. And yes, his size isn’t his fault or anything. Inside, he’s still a toddler. Who wears size four or even five kid clothes.

Anyway, we’re ready to retire it.

OPTIONS

1. Cold Turkey. We tried this once and it was a colossal failure. You’d think he’d get exhausted and give up on the idea after a while and just succumb to sleep, but NO. He got whipped into a frantic, despairing frenzy: WHERE’S BINKY??? Just went nuts. Obviously, if we don’t let him have binky at all, ever again, he won’t have it. But I think we’d lose our sanity in the process.

2. The Paci Fairy. Sigh. Sure, he loves the book. I mean, Duh, it’s all about binkies. It has grown-ups with binkies, babies with binkies, and fairies holding binkies. Rainbow thinks it’s a hoot to have me read it to him while he has a binky in his mouth, occasionally popping it out to examine it, then popping it back in. However, the whole give up binky = gift for the boy thing is totally lost on him.

3. Surgery on the binky.
I’ve heard of two strategies here: cutting off the business end in a swift beheading and just nipping off a wee bit every night until there’s nothing left. It seems that the sudden lopping off would yield the same result as Option #1, and I’m concerned about structural integrity with the gradual nipping. Wouldn’t the silicone tear and become a chokie while he sucked on it?

4. Piercing the binky with a pin or nail. Might work? Apparently it messes up the proper suckability of the pacifier, although I’m still a little concerned about the silicone tearing. But surely it could tolerate a pinhole without tearing…?

5. Befouling the binky. Douse the binky with something yucky tasting before bedtime. I’ve heard of hot sauce, but I don’t want to, like, hurt him, you know? I’m leaning toward vinegar, I think, or maybe lemon juice. Maybe he’d just taste it and toss it aside without falling totally apart?

If you have a terrific idea, please do share it. Have I left out an option?

Also, if you could help me figure out how to get a 30 month old to nap in a big boy bed, that would be AWESOME.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WeebleMom
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 01:58:31

    Wish I could help… but I have no clue. Good luck!

  2. Mama Jamz
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 18:18:21

    Thanks, WeebleMom. I don’t know what the best route is. I think that since he’s being so sleep-resistant now, I’ll wait to push the issue. Heaven help me if I try to take Binky away AND don’t sleep with him at night.

  3. Jennifer
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 22:32:15

    I have no ideas, either, but I’m pretty amused at the surgery suggestion. I don’t know why, but the thought of it disappearing slowly just tickled me. Love all the updates on your growing-up guy!

  4. Kristina
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 03:00:44

    Well, in the case of my 29 month old son who was a bedtime binky junky, option #3 definitely yielded the same result as option #1. Then, the few times that binky got in the mix again somehow it was followed by a hard throwing of the binky as he yelled “NO MOMMY!” Honestly, the deadline the dentist gave us had passed 2 months prior and I didn’t know what would work…then he got hand foot mouth disease. He was miserable not being able to eat or drink for a few days and I felt horrible for him, but it was a blessing in disguise because I knew after not having it for 2 days there was no way I was giving it back. 😉

  5. Mama Jamz
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 12:50:11

    Yeah, Kristina, I think I got a similar result as you last night. I cut the tip off two of his binkies, which makes the end open up into the hollow middle. He tried one for awhile and was totally puzzled, and then threw it aside and demanded a “fresh binky.” I think it all would have hit the fan then, a la option one, except I still had one on hand that was unsnipped. I tried pacifier surgery b/c his new preschool teacher suggested it, but maybe the gross flavor option is a better one.

    I’m sorry your son got hand foot mouth disease, but I totally relate to being relieved about having a relatively easy out for the binky.

  6. Trackback: ka-thump, ka-thump, ka-thump… « love, loss, and rainbows

Leave a Reply

